Chris Eyre, Director

Chris Eyre (Cheyenne/Arapaho) will serve as the director of the PBS film, historic re-enactments and creative advisor for the online Native POV program.  Chris Eyre directed three of the five one-hour episodes of the Emmy-nominated American Experience Series,We Shall Remain, currently airing on PBS.  The episodes directed by Chris are Part I: -After the Mayflower; Part II -Temuseh's Vision and; Part III:Trail of Tears. As a producer, director and writer, his films focus on all aspects of historic and contemporary Native American Life, while dispelling the usual stereotypes.  Eyre's debut feature film,Smoke Signals (1998), won the coveted Sundance Film Festival Filmmakers Trophy and the Audience Award.  Eyre's strengths as a filmmaker shows in his subsequent work. Skinsis a gritty tale of two brothers on the Pine Ridge Reservation - one a tribal cop and the other is a Vietnam vet battling alcohol and emotional problems.  He also directed two episodes of the PBS seriesMystery!;Thief of Time andSkinwalkers starring Adam Beach as Jim Chee, and Wes Studi as Joe Leaphorn.  Both were executive produced by Robert Redford and based on the best selling Tony Hillerman novels. In 2006, Eyre won the DGA's Outstanding Directorial Achievement for Children's forEdge of America, the first Native American to win the award.  Eyre's short film,A Thousand Roads, the "signature film" for the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian, opened in Washington DC in 2005 for an unlimited and exclusive engagement. Chris Eyre was named a 2007 USA Rockefeller Foundation Fellow.